the book really gave me a great impact on how i see my life and on how i could mold my kids’ life. i strongly recommend you to read “The Leader In Me” by Stephen R. Covey.

the book is about a true life story of a school in USA who strive so hard in changing the student’s life from having social problems to kids who know their own responsibilities in life. it implemented the 7 habits introduced by the author. the 7 habits are:

  1. Be Proactive : Take responsibility for your life
  2. Begin with the End in Mind : Define your mission and goals in life
  3. Put first Things First : Prioritize, and do the most important things first
  4. Think Win-Win : Have an everyone -can-win attitude
  5. Seek First to Understand, Then to Be Understood : Listen to people sincerely
  6. Synergize : Work together to achieve more
  7. Sharpen the Saw : Renew yourself regularly

now, i’ve implemented the first habit to my daughter. be proactive..

one fine morning, she said to me… “mama, i’m proactive today. i made my bed without you telling me.” it’s a huge impact on me. however, since she’s still 8 years old and she only exposed this habit at home… i need to give her time to make sure the habit fills in her. i need to keep reminding her being proactive. however, i’m trying to find a better way to reward her for being proactive rather than just saying, “that’s great, honey!”

